Need coding help in php

Most of us are not "computer people" so post your technical questions and comments here. If you have computer or Internet expertise, share it here.

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin
Posts in topic: 2
Posts: 17787
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:31 pm
Location: Friendswood, TX
Contact:

Need coding help in php

#1

Post by Charles L. Cotton »

I want to add the "Join the NRA" logo and link to the header in the forum. People using smaller monitors can't afford to lose the space taken up by the new column on the left. I think I know which file to edit, and I hope I know where, but I'm not at all sure about the code. Does anyone have a suggestion?

Thanks,
Chas.

Blazen
Member
Posts in topic: 1
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Need coding help in php

#2

Post by Blazen »

Do you mean up where the banner is at? It should be done in html code, not necessary .php code. Not to say it can't be done, but easier to do it plan html. I would take a copy of the file you think you need to edit and play around and load it up. Once it looks good, make a copy of the org file, then over write it, and see how it looks.
User avatar

Skiprr
Moderator
Posts in topic: 1
Posts: 6458
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Outskirts of Houston

Re: Need coding help in php

#3

Post by Skiprr »

Charles, I think Blazen is correct: there may be a very easy way to do this. But since I don't have v3 running anywhere, I'm just guessing wildly. :lol:

In each of the style templates is a file named overall_header.html. Check down at line 100:

Code: Select all

			<div id="site-description">
				<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>
				<h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
				<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>
				<p style="display: none;"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
			</div>
The HTML is pulling in variables defined in /includes/functions.php to build the header. I think all you need to do is add a line to add the NRA image and link (I'd rename the image to get rid of the spaces, though, just to be on the safe side), like:

Code: Select all

			<div id="site-description">
				<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>
				&nbsp; <a href="http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR019416" target="_blank"><img src="/images/Join_Here_11.gif" width="79" height="106" border="0" alt="Join the NRA"></a>
				<h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
				<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>
				<p style="display: none;"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
			</div>
If it works, you'd need to modify both the Prosilver and Subsilver overall_header.html files.

If it doesn't work, then I never said anything. :cool:
Join the NRA or upgrade your membership today. Support the Texas Firearms Coalition and subscribe to the Podcast.
I’ve contacted my State Rep, Gary Elkins, about co-sponsoring HB560. Have you contacted your Rep?
NRA Benefactor Life Member
User avatar

KC5AV
Senior Member
Posts in topic: 1
Posts: 2117
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: Marshall

Re: Need coding help in php

#4

Post by KC5AV »

I'm going to quote you, just in case we need the evidence later. :rules:
Skiprr wrote:Charles, I think Blazen is correct: there may be a very easy way to do this. But since I don't have v3 running anywhere, I'm just guessing wildly. :lol:

In each of the style templates is a file named overall_header.html. Check down at line 100:

Code: Select all

			<div id="site-description">
				<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>
				<h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
				<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>
				<p style="display: none;"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
			</div>
The HTML is pulling in variables defined in /includes/functions.php to build the header. I think all you need to do is add a line to add the NRA image and link (I'd rename the image to get rid of the spaces, though, just to be on the safe side), like:

Code: Select all

			<div id="site-description">
				<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>
				&nbsp; <a href="http://membership.nrahq.org/default.asp?campaignid=XR019416" target="_blank"><img src="/images/Join_Here_11.gif" width="79" height="106" border="0" alt="Join the NRA"></a>
				<h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
				<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>
				<p style="display: none;"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
			</div>
If it works, you'd need to modify both the Prosilver and Subsilver overall_header.html files.

If it doesn't work, then I never said anything. :cool:
NRA lifetime member

Kalrog
Senior Member
Posts in topic: 1
Posts: 1886
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:11 am
Location: Leander, TX
Contact:

Re: Need coding help in php

#5

Post by Kalrog »

I'm not a fan of banners. How about something more simple? Replace the TexasCHLForum.com image at the top with an NRA image and change the link?

Or what about a frame set with the outer/upper frame being the "banner" and the inner/bottom frame being the forum? Similar functionality but without a banner that messes up the formatting.
User avatar

Topic author
Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin
Posts in topic: 2
Posts: 17787
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:31 pm
Location: Friendswood, TX
Contact:

Re: Need coding help in php

#6

Post by Charles L. Cotton »

I would really like to simply put the NRA logo and link on the right side of the current header; i.e. opposite the current TexasCHLforum logo. I think I may try Skiprr's code, but put it at the end of the header code. Obviously, this assumes my code-deficient brain can figure out where that is! All this reminds me of a comment my pistolsmith made one time when I brought him to fix a pistol I had "tinkered" with a bit. He said, "Charles, I have a deal for you. I won't practice law and you don't try to gunsmith." Ed's a wise man.

Chas.
Post Reply

Return to “Technical Tips, Questions & Discussions (Computers & Internet)”