CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
gr0cerycarter
Posts in topic: 2

Storing in console on UTMB campus?

Post by gr0cerycarter »

Hey all,

New to the forums here. Because I am a medical student, and not an "employee" of UTMB, what does the law imply about my right to keep my firearm in my car's console if I am parked in a lot? Does the "premise" definition still hold true even though this is an academic teaching hospital? We were given lots of information at Mr. Estep's class, but most of the people were older than me and this kind of scenario wasn't particularly applicable to them and wasn't covered in depth. Thanks in advance. :bigear:

baldeagle

Re: Storing in console on UTMB campus?

Post by baldeagle »

The Texas State Attorney General has written an opinion regarding Texas Labor Code 52.061 as it applies to employees. https://www.oag.state.tx.us/opinions/op ... ga0972.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I'm not aware of a similar opinion regarding non-employees. If you are considered an employee, then Texas Labor Code 52.061 authorizes you to legally store a weapon in your vehicle when parked on UTMB property. If you are not an employee, then you need to rely on Texas Penal Code 46.035(f)(3), which defines premises with regard to hospitals and educational institutions thus: "(3) "Premises" means a building or a portion of a building. The term does not include any public or private driveway, street, sidewalk or walkway, parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area."