Is it worth it, with all these restrictions?

The "What Works, What Doesn't," "Recommendations & Experiences"

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
Caponicus
Posts in topic: 1

Is it worth it, with all these restrictions?

Post by Caponicus »

First, an up-front apology: I simply couldn't find the right search terms to see how many places this has already been discussed in many other threads.

Newbie here. It recently occurred to me that I might want to go get a CHL license. We currently keep our gun in a gunvault and it pretty much serves as a "home invasion" thing. However, the more I think about it, the more it seems like I'd end up getting the CHL and pretty much NEVER being able to actually carry. I can imagine it getting to the point where it's simply such a gigantic pain to plan my day around the weapon that I'll end up just leaving it in the safe.

For example, work. Yes, I've seen the threads on that. I'm in the same situation many are: office worker where the company bans guns there AND in the parking garage, which really is the only place that's parkable anywhere near the place. My situation is slightly unique though: I actually commute by bicycle. So, 5 out of 7 days I'm either in my cubicle or riding to work or riding home. I'm more likely to get mugged on the ride home than any other time, I imagine, but I would NEVER have the gun!!

So, that leaves Saturday and Sunday. How do you avoid basically having to call ahead to each business you plan on visiting (or spending a bunch of time on your smartphone on the web) as you're going about your day? If you go out and the business doesn't allow guns, you're faced with a walk back to the car (or bike!) during which you're MOST at risk! What's the point?

lonewolf

Re: Is it worth it, with all these restrictions?

Post by lonewolf »

The truth is that CC is allowed in many more places than it is disallowed. The supermarket, the restaurant, etc, etc.....