Is IDPA what I want to do?

IDPA, IPSC, ICORE & More!

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
skankpile
Posts in topic: 1

Is IDPA what I want to do?

Post by skankpile »

I’m a newbie, but getting tired of shooting at the same old paper targets. I want to gain speed, and engage multiple targets as well as learn strategy for engaging multiple targets.

Is this learned through IDPA.. I mean is it more of a competition or are there classes, drills, and situations that can be applied to real world situations?

I live in Sugarland and there is not much near me, but I could go to ASC, Topgun, or if there is somewhere else within 30min....

Lodge2004

Re: Is IDPA what I want to do?

Post by Lodge2004 »

Don't know about IDPA (it's on my list of things to do), but if you are near Top Gun, you could try some classes and follow-up with their shooting groups. Hoffner's and Comp-Tac both conduct practice sessions each week at Top Gun.

seamusTX

Post by seamusTX »

The people who run IDPA make clear that it is a game, not training. However, it is a lot of fun; and if you happen to develop some skills along the way, well ...

Sugarland is not that far from PSC on a Saturday morning.

- Jim
Fear, anger, hatred, and greed. The devil's all-you-can-eat buffet.

HighVelocity

Post by HighVelocity »

IDPA is a game, but, it's a whole lot of fun. It's not intended to be looked upon as training. However, you will become very aware of your equipment. You'll shoot on the move, engage multiple targets, perform a few different types of reloads etc. You will also become a safer shooter because muzzle and finger awareness will be drilled into you.

There's a great group of folks that put on an IDPA match several times a month in Conroe. I highly recommend you go check it out.

http://www.tts-idpa.net/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;