Drawing from holster disengages safety (??)

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
LarryH
Posts in topic: 6

Drawing from holster disengages safety (??)

Post by LarryH »

Several times over the last week, when I remove my Kimber Pro Carry from its MTAC holster, the safety is disengaged.

I know that the safety was engaged when I holstered it.

Could the gun be too tight against the leather?

For what it's worth, I did adjust the cant a week or so ago. Perhaps I should set it back where it was?

What do the experts think? (Non-experts' ideas are welcome, too.)

RiverRat
Posts in topic: 4

Re: Drawing from holster disengages safety (??)

Post by RiverRat »

I've been carrying 1911's in Mtac every day for a couple of years, varying 3", 3.5", 4", 4.25" ones and haven't had that happen, yet. I have carried some 5", but not with regularity. Keep us posted if you find out what is causing it to disengage.
Life member NRA and TSRA

Sidro
Posts in topic: 1

Post by Sidro »

Have the same problem with new Kimber and Supertuck. Think I am starting the bbl into the holster but am dropping the butt of the pistol back as I holster. Then as the gun goes into the holster it has to be canted forward to fully holster. At this point I believe the safety is being pushed down and off. As long as I pay attention to what is going on I don't rub the safety off. May not be your case but could be. The safety is longer and has more area to grab than my Colt which I don't have this problem with.

Skiprr
Posts in topic: 2

Post by Skiprr »

LarryH wrote:Several times over the last week, when I remove my Kimber Pro Carry from its MTAC holster, the safety is disengaged.
A Kimber in an MTAC has been my primary carry for a couple of years, and I've not had that happen, either.
LarryH wrote:Could the gun be too tight against the leather?